More than just
a cycle race

The 947 Ride Joburg is more than just a cycle race – it’s a platform for people to accomplish something great.

Whether you want to achieve a personal goal; fundraise for a charity under Ride for a Purpose or help those who need a boost en route, this is an event that allows participants and supporters alike to reach out, support each other, and make themselves and the whole of Joburg proud.

Why not commit to tackle the challenging 97 km route for a cause that is greater than yourself. Since its inception in 2011, the 947 Ride Joburg Ride for a Purpose initiative has helped countless charities raise over R103 million enabling these organisations to continue the good work they do, touching lives across the nation.

Here’s how you can become a Ride for a Purpose Hero:

Register your Charity Team

01

A Charity Team is made up of 10 or more entries to help raise funds for the charity. Only registered charities may use the 947 Ride Joburg as a platform to raise funds and awareness for their cause.

Ride for a Purpose and join a registered Charity Team

01

If you'd like to ride for or donate funds to a registered charity, choose a registered charity from the list below and contact the team leader directly for information on how to become a part of their charity.

You will need to use a promo code from the charity team leader to link you to their team when entering online.

If your preferred charity is not listed below yet, contact them directly and encourage them to become part of the Ride for a Purpose campaign.

Charity list

Charity NameWebsite / Facebook PageContact PersonEmail address
Abraham Kriel Bambananiwww.abrahamkriel.orgMorgan Mahalamorgan@abrahamkriel.org
Arthritis Kids South Africawww.arthritiskids.co.zaCatherine McCormackcatherine@arthritiskids.co.za
Border Collie Rescuewww.bordercollierescue.co.zaGillian Pearsongillianpatricia1@gmail.com
Botshabelowww.botshabelo.co.zaJessica Smithjessica@botshabelo.co.za
Hodnett House NPCwww.hodnetthouse.org.zaMargot Hodnettmargotho@telkomsa.net
HOPE Worldwide South Africawww.hopeworldwidesa.orgKeith Maraiskeith_marais@hotmail.com
Husky Rescue South Africawww.huskyrescue.org.za Gill Readfundraising@huskyrescue.org.za
More Balls Than Mostwww.facebook.com/MoreBallsThanMostNelius Preezinfo@mbtm.co.za
Muscle Riders Themba Bumbamdfgauteng@mdsa.org.za
Pilanesberg Wildlife Warriorswww.ho.org.za Rose Simpsonfundraising@ho.org.za
PinkDrivewww.pinkdrive.co.za Nelius du Preeznelius@pinkdrive.co.za
Rare Diseases South Africawww.facebook.com/rarediseasesSAShevaun McCreedyevents@rarediseases.co.za
Rivers Foundationwww.riversfoundation.org.zaLlewellyn Sinclairllewellyn.sinclair@zoetis.com
San Salvador Homewww.sansalvadorhome.orgAnn Peartoncycling@sansalvadorhome.org
Smile Foundationwww.smilefoundation.co.zaToni Jabourridejoburg@smilefoundationsa.org
South African Guide-Dogs Association for the Blindwww.guidedog.org.zaYolande Van Rooyenyolandev@guidedog.org.za
Stafford Rescue Africawww.facebook.com/StaffordRescueAfricaLauren Mallet-Vealeride4astafford@gmail.com
Stepping Stone Hospicewww.steppingstonehospice.co.zaJudy Joubertjudy.joubert@absa.africa
Teddy Bear Foundationwww.ttbc.org.zaDalene Bishopridejoburg@ttbc.org.za
Thalitha Children’s Trustwww.thalitha.co.zaChelsea Zindogachelsea@thalitha.co.za
The Recovery Foundationwww.therecoveryfoundation.org.zaRoberto Ferreiraroberto@therecoveryfoundation.org.za
The Sushi and Panda Foundationwww.facebook.com/thesushiandpandafoundationMegan Taylormegan@thesushiandpandafoundation.co.za
Tzaneen Care Groupwww.tzaneencaregroup.co.zaPavol Darazsdarazs65@gmail.com